Depressed..

For the past 12 years around this time I get very emotional and depressed.  I don’t know what it is.  I can’t remember anything happening around this time that should affect me like this.  It seems to happen every single year…  I wish I knew why.  I don’t know if it’s the change of seasons.. the days getting cooler.  All I know is right now I feel utterly alone.  I love my daughter, but I miss working.  I miss talking to people and having friends.

I feel so depressed and I just want to crawl into a cave and die.  It’s very hard to deal with depression when you have an 18 month old running around.  I’ve always had depression.  I tried to kill myself because of it.  It’s a dark cloud hanging above me and no one out there has any idea of how I feel.  I tried to get counseling but it really didn’t work.  It’s weird, I wanted to go to school for counseling but never finished.  I thought maybe I could help someone else deal with their demons, when I can’t even deal with my own.

I used to be a cutter, and a pill popper.  Clearly I don’t do that anymore.  The temptation to do it though.. it’s still there.  I am Christian but I never said I was perfect.  Other people take out frustrations by drinking.  Well I can’t drink.  It’s a religious thing.. and also a family thing.  My folks have very addictive backgrounds, and their own parents have the same and generation to generation it’s been there.  So drinking isn’t an option.

I think I need to get out and do play dates again.  I need to go out and not be alone.  I miss the times when I was young.. gas was $.50 and you could take road trips without worrying about anything.  I miss blaring my music and having the windows down and the wind hitting my face and it was so cool and crisp.  I miss not having obligations, I miss my freedom.  Sometimes I just want to get into my car and drive away … drive and drive and never look back.  But I know that I can’t.  So when I go and run errands with my daughter I enjoy the time I get driving away .. and enjoying the scenery.  Then I come back home and things are the same again… 

I wish I wouldn’t feel like this every year.  I wish I knew why I feel like this.  I wish I could snap out of it.  I got my Psychology degree and still can’t figure out what’s wrong with me.. sigh.

3 thoughts on “Depressed..

  1. Hi, Is late and I cant sleep.. I read what you wrote and let me start by letting you know that you are not alone. Many people suffer from depression including me. I’m a 35 year old single mom I can relate to what you are saying . Sometimes I get so depress I really don’t want to live anymore, but then I think of my Son and he gives me the strength to continue on this journey. Whenever you are down try to focus on all the blessing God gives you everyday. Think of the simple things that we take we all take for granted. Think that things could always be worst for someone else.. Do something nice for someone else… Do something that brings you joy… Share time with your friends and love ones. Whatever you do, don’t give in to the negative thoughts or feelings > God has giving you all the tools to overcome any obstacle in life including DEPRESSION. Believe and know that with GOD ALL THINGS ARE POSSIBLE….=)

  2. You are welcome! and no, is not too late….lol.. I hope you feel better soon, I know the Holidays can be a little emotional for everyone, but remember that everything in life is how we decide to look at it, we can chose to see it in a positive or negative way .. For me, my depression has been a mental battle for a long time, and I been noticing more and more lately that is a product of my negative thoughts, I have days that I think positive and my attitude is completely different.. Breaking bad habits is difficult, but every time you see something in a negative way try to also look at least at one thing that could also be positive about the situation.. =)

Leave a comment